Kenn Hayes @ WSYB: Thanks for Morning Chat!

On Monday, January 20th, Steve and I joined Kenn Hayes for a “Morning Chat”, which is also the name of his morning radio show on WSYB (1380 AM), from 9-10AM M-F.

It was my first time appearing on the radio, and Kenn made us feel welcome, and it was a fun experience.  Ken started by asking us a few questions about computer terminology and acronyms that we commonly hear and see these days, in the news or on our computer screens.  We even got a couple calls from radio listeners.

Kenn asked us about the word “cache”, as in browser cache.  Steve answered the question, and about clearing out the browser cache (here is a good article which explains for various browsers).

Kenn’s question about the word “cache” brought back an experience I had in one of my college computer courses.  The professor started using the word “cache” in his lectures (but he did not spell it out).  I knew what “cash” was, since I saw my tuition bill.  This college course did not include a textbook, just the professor’s handouts.  I didn’t understand what he was talking about whenever he said “cache”.  But finally, about two weeks later, I realized that “cache” was basically computer memory or disk storage for holding onto information for use later on.

So how about this acronym” TINSTAADQ: There Is No Such Thing As A Dumb Question.  I learned my lesson in that college class many years ago.  I should have asked what “cache” was, right away.  I might have gotten a better grade in that particular class, if I had only asked.

So please don’t be afraid to ask questions.  I’m hoping that the Rutland Tech Club can help folks to continue learning as computer technology and terminology keeps marching on.

We really appreciate that Kenn Hayes invited us to his radio program, and gave us the opportunity to talk about the new Rutland Tech Club we are trying to get started.

Thank You Kenn!  Best of luck with your Morning Chat show.  You certainly have interesting guests who are doing good things around Rutland County.

Ron

Leave a Reply

